THEMOVE
THEMOVE

Can Anyone Stop Pogačar and Van der Poel at Milan-Sanremo? | THEMOVE+

3d ago45:287,772 words
0:000:00

Spencer Martin and Johan Bruyneel break down the course, contenders, and likely outcomes for Saturday's Milan-Sanremo, the first one-day Monument of the 2026 season. Listen in to see how the duo think...

Transcript

EN

You know, it could be that I can perfectly see a scenario where Bogotia attac...

attacks from the two follows and actually from the group drops Bogotia from the module. I don't exclude that. Everybody welcome back to the move plus our weekly show this week. It's a special outcomes addition. I'm Spencer Martin. I'm here with the Ahmeriniel and we are predicting Melonsen Ramah, which is on Saturday, not Sunday of this weekend. The first monument of the 2026 season,

we finally get the big guys going at each other. Teddy Pagot, your Matthew Vanderpool, Tom Pickcock, Matthew Brennan, Woutman Art, very exciting stuff. Johan, I'm going to, I'll just say a little bit about the race of a little bit of the containers, the betting odds and then we'll get your take on who's going to win this and how it's

going to play out. Melonsen Ramah, we all know it, 298 kilometers, I believe. It's shrinking.

It's sub 300, does not start in Melon anymore. It got kicked out to Pavia,

in Zincen Ramah, as always, pretty flat for flat to uphill for the first half. They go over the

Passeau del Ticino, I believe, and then they descend down to the coast. series of climbs get harder and closer together toward the end. The big highlights, though, are the Chapraza, which is about 26, 27 kilometers from the finish line. And then they descend down that, have a little flat section, and then the Pogio, the final climb, it's shorter, but quite a bit faster. They descend down very twisty descent into the finish in Zincen Ramah. It's downhill to flat for the

last two kilometers. The Chapraza is 6k long, Pogio 44-ish kilometers long. Those are the two deciphered. The size of climbs, the odd thing about Zincen Ramah, longest race of the year,

probably the one where you have to watch the least of it because it's important in the

sense that it is putting load in riders, legs, making them less explosive, changing, how a sprint might play out, but really nothing happens until the base of the final two or three climb. So you can kind of condenses all the action toward the end. The contenders are the defending champion, Matthew Vanderpool, is the favorite. This is on draft Kings, plus 135. Taty Pogio, plus 175, meaning if you bet $100, you win $175. Philippe Agana last year's runner-up, plus $800,

Jasper Phillips and winner two years ago, plus $1,400. Tom Piccoc, plus $1,400. Woutvin Art, plus $1,600. Matthew, Brendan, plus $2,200. Even though Toro, plus $2,500, Tobias, Loond Anderson got the high end right now, plus $2,500. Mads, Patterson is even racing this plus $4,000, maybe not a good pick if he's not in the race. But Johan, how do you think this is going to play out? It has traditionally been a sprinters race. It is becoming less and less

so as the final climbs are raised faster and faster. The groups are getting smaller at the end. But how do you think it's going to play out and who's going to win this?

Yeah, Spencer. I mean, it's one of the most traditional races on the calendar. It was always

quite predictable. And I think it remains quite predictable with the difference that the dynamics of the Palatone have changed. There are guys who are fast, who can climb now also. And, you know, these guys can make the difference on the Chipress line, the Podjo, and then actually make sure that the sprinters don't come back. It's a mix of both scenarios, right? Let's not forget $204. Just for Phillips and one. It did break up on the Chipress line on the Podjo, but it all came back.

And Phillips and one from a sprint. I think it the same scenario last year. Spencer, for sure, what we know for sure is that UAE and Talapogacha are going to go full gas on the Chipress line.

That's their goal. They know that that's what they have to do to break the Palatone

and to get rid of the sprinters. We saw last year, it almost worked, right? We had one of the pool in Ghana, who were with Pugachar and Ghana. I got dropped on the Podjo, came back. But I foresee the same scenario with the slight difference. I mean, I don't believe it, it's more or less the same outcome. But I am, as I said, in our podcast a few days ago, I can't see how Pugachar can drop from the pool or this funder pool. I think he's so strong.

You know, I did a little bit of research, and there's people from within the Palatone, I wrote it down here, who gave some information on the, let's see, on the other pool, actual,

on the second, where is it here? So Oliver Nassum, I don't know if you read this, Oliver Nassum.

All right, that's now.

about the pool in the last stage of the dinner, right? Where I said, you know, I thought this

was premeditated. It kind of was, until it wasn't until Phillips and got in trouble.

Nassum says, "One of the pool's teammates were shouting at him to stop." So we were wrong. Matti von der Pool has made a great impression at Tireno, and some of the episodes that the other writers are telling only reinforcement, the feeling that Vander Pool is even stronger in previous years. Oliver Nassum spoke about what happened in the last stage and Vander Pool's insistent forcing on the climb of Rippa Transone,

which, with which he put many of the sprinters into the race, including Arthur Filsen, in trouble. Nassum watched it all close up and can't find the words to describe Vander Pool's performance. I watched up close his teammates yelling at him to stop and slow down. It was simply a demonstration of his "She Press" Alex. He said in the, uh, at last the new spot cast. His effort was dedicated by pure personal interest. He really wanted to hurt us.

This was really impressive. I've seen some amazing things from him this week. They convinced me

that he's the number one favorite for the victory of Nassum Remo. And then I also saw somewhere that Nassum said, he saw Vander Pool react to the autorose attacks, and he had to break to not hit the wheel of the autorose. I mean, you could see, I mean, I've seen a few of those reactions on the autorose attacks and Vander Pool was straight away on the wheel, but, you know, people who saw it from close by, it must have been really impressive. Now,

is that a guarantee for him to win me Lansan Ramo? It's not. But I do think that Pogacchar won't be able to shake off Vander Pool. Will they go both together to the finish? That's a different story. Right? It could also be that Pogacchar can't drop him. Let's not forget that Pogacchar,

there's, there's been a few additions. Because Vander Pool won't entwice now, right?

You want to twice already be Lansan Ramo? We saw in both of those additions that Pogacchar attacked the attack, on one of the times that he, that Vander Pool won't, on the Pool counter attack, and drop Pogacchar on the pojo, and the two others, which will gana, and what will not, I think. And then last year, Pogacchar tried to drop him, had him on the ropes, but yet again, on the top of the pojo who attacked Vander Pool, and had Pogacchar on the limit.

Couldn't drop him, but so you know, it could be that I can perfectly see a scenario where Pogacchar attacks attacks attacks attacks on the pool follows, and actually Vander Pool drops Pogacchar on the pojo. I don't exclude that. I was just gonna say that, because these climbs are not steep. It's a process 4% Pogio 3.8%. When you get climbs of that, it sounds ridiculous, right?

Pogacchar getting dropped. How could that ever happen? The problem is, on climbs like that,

how raw power, absolute power, is better than Watts per kilo. As we saw in Paris, you know, that wasn't really a fair fight, but Pogacchar can be dropped by some of these bigger guys. Like, well, if an artist drops him, because he can put out more power, it was cobbled, so seeded, is even better. I think that's not impossible, Johan, that Pogacchar's dropped, is he dropped in the suppressor? Probably not, is he dropped in the pojo? It could happen, for sure.

Well, I mean, the only thing is also Spencer, sorry to interrupt, is that, you know, Pogacchar

kind of has to drop, but you know, Pogacchar doesn't necessarily have to drop him, although if they get away, both of them together, and they go full gas to the finish,

it's still, it's a two-mind sprint. After 300 kilometers, you never know, right? Normally,

it's a big advantage to another pool, but after a long race, and Pogacchar's not slow eater, you know, and especially not in two-mind sprint. Yeah, like if you look at the odds of plus 135 and plus 175, you're right, the Vanderpool, the onus to drop somebody is on Pogacchar. In theory, he has to go to the line solo, so Vanderpool's the better, probably mathematical pick. It's hard to imagine him losing. We should say before anyone puts money on this,

this is the hardest race to predict of the entire season. I think it's, it's very, very difficult to win this race because it's not so difficult. Someone like Pogacchar can't just line everybody up and drop him. Tough. I do think, I do think if they go to the line together, it's not guaranteed that Pogacchar loses. You know, it's not 99% chance. He loses that sprint.

I think he could even, he could think about it.

play out, you a, in theory, what we all expect is going to line up their riders like Del Toro,

Morgado, Morgaro, Antonio, Morgado. They're going to see, is Morgado doing it? I believe he is.

Let me check. I'm not so sure. No, so make no tea, grow up, grow a sharp, young Christian, dominant is a strong team, dominant Novak, Del Toro vermiche. So a lot of power actually. It's a strong team. That's true. But I personally, I think that they are lacking a few guys that they had last year, and this team doesn't have this kind of explosiveness. The two last guys from last year,

to lounge pogacchar were timwellins and Jonathan Narvice. Both of them are not here because they're injured.

That's obviously a very strong team, but I don't know if they have this speed, that, for example, nobody has the leading out speed of Narvice that that explosive kick at the end. Is that what pogacchar needs? I'm not so sure. As long as it's fast enough, he can still go, it just needs to go far enough, far enough. He needs only a lot of units, one and a half kilometer lead out. If he waits until 2K from the top, he's not going to drop them anymore, because it's

not as hard anymore on the cheapest. Yeah, and we should say, in theory, Del Toro, very good, right?

Same with the on-Christian, or are they going to be at the front? Because this is a position in

like, you have, there's a PhD level positioning test. Del Toro has not been there in the last few

years. I do kind of worry about that. But, but, so that's what we expect. They line it out.

They attack them that you press it. Do they have to do that? What if they go further out? Like, Capo Bertha? It's 2K long. It's 6.2%. That's a steepest climb. It comes roughly what 40K from the finish. Is that actually a better place? Oh, no, you can't go from there. They can't go from there. What they can't do, I mean, typically, I mean, it has been a few minor changes, but normally is the Torquino. That's like a bigger climb, a longer climb, and then you go down to the coast, and then you have,

I don't know the order anymore. We have Capo Bertha, Capo Chervo, Capo Melee, probably in the other way. I think it's Capo Bertha the hardest one in the last one. And then you go to the Chepesa. They need to use those three capos to make their race hard, but they can't go from there, because they're going to burn up their own guys already, and it's not, I mean, they can't stay away from there until the Chepesa. So, I mean, I could also foresee another scenario, Spencer.

You know what you think about this. So, let's just assume that Pogachar does get away on the Chepesa. Okay, so if I'm vulnerable, if I'm his team, I have Plan A and Plan B. Plan A is

which I think they're pretty confident about. I'm just staying with Pogachar. He's not dropping me.

What if it does happen? Plan B should be, okay? We try to stay with the next few guys, you know, without leave over the limit. Let's say if Pogachar gets away on the Chepesa, right, and he gets 15, 20 seconds, even 30 seconds on the top. And it's Father Pool, Ghana, World Van Art, Pidcock, and whoever else, I don't know, another, not a big engine. They're catching him before the Pog. If they work together, in between the Chepesa and the Poggio, they're catching him.

So, yeah, if they work together, yes, it's a big end, right? These are things that, you know, should be a scenario, and probably also something that, I mean, I don't know if they still do that, but probably also something that the competing teams would kind of have a, you know, of the record conversation about, hey, if this happens, what if, you know, we just make sure that we are, nobody's isolated, and if the three, four, five guys, because they all know, more or less,

we're going to be there, right? They know that they know the fitness and the condition of everybody. That could be a way to beat Pogochar at his own game. It's a bit more complicated, of course, to make it happen in the race, but it's definitely a possibility. Actually, the biggest risk to Vanderpool probably is Philipson, because of Philipson catches back

On, no one's going to work, because no one wants to pull Philipson to the line.

you outlined, yeah, in theory, they could work together, in theory, they could pull Pogochar back.

We should settle, when it's the last time we saw him reel in, it was Amstall Gold.

And then, in the guard at the tour stage, like 11 and 20, 24, whatever, like it actually does not happen very often. But that group was working, if you go back to that tour, they were working together, and they pulled them back in. So, Spencer, you know, if we may believe that the latest reports on the weather forecast, they do predict a slight headwind in the final. So, what you press up, apparently 10 kilometers per hour, headwind, which is obviously not great for a solo attack.

And then, especially the wind in between the GPS and the Poggio, if it's slight headwind there, then it's not easy. If there's five six guys behind the really organized, even Pogochar's one in this day away, I don't think. Yeah, like to last you, they had a tailwind on the Tupressa. And then, yeah, also the thing about this race is the climbs are getting away faster. Like, you look at the Poggio average speed, it's increasing significantly every year.

The Tupressa, the one before it, is also, because that was the big thing. It's like, the Poggio was fast. And then now, they're one-up in it, where it's like, well, both are fast. The Tupressa last year was ridden at 37.6 kilometers an hour. That was with Ghana, Vanderpull, and Pogochar. That's the only five guys remaining. In 2020, when, Wildman Art won the race, it was 32.5 kilometers an hour. So, significantly faster in just five years.

Yeah. Yeah. But let's take a quick break. And then I'm going to ask you to pick your winner when we come back from this. If you got to pick one of these guys, and then we'll talk about why we think who else could win and why how they could win if that's possible. Okay, Yohan.

So we're back. If you had to pick one of these riders, who are you picking to win this race?

I'm going to pick Mati Hoanipur. I think it's the safest bet, especially after having looked at what he did in Dino. The reports I'm hearing from, you know, in the media and from inside

information, from within the Peloton, apparently it's incredible how strong he is.

Now, you know, he has to have that good day on the day of the race, of course. You know, it made you fur from how your condition is, but but I think from the pool is that the big favorites are I'm picking him to win the race. Yeah. And it's hard to go against that, especially these positive money plus 135. It's rare. You see one of these guys that at a monument that have positive odds anymore, is where does that sound? Same rainbow is unpredictable. So that's probably why I'm going to pick

just because I picked him to win every monument. I'm now half in second thoughts about this. I'll pick that a pagachar and we'd like it a little peek behind the curtain. I've been on both of them because with those odds, you can make money. You make a small profit no matter who wins. Pagachar plus 175 without pretty good odds. How do you drop Mati Hoanipur? That's that's a tough question. I frankly think pagachar is going to have to beat him in a sprint. I think that's

the only way because, as you say with his climbing form, I don't think they're going to drop him

unless they really need to go full gas from the bottom of the Gpresso. That means in my opinion. And then I also full gas Spencer. That means that in my opinion, on UAE, there's only one guy who can harm a part of Pagachar. Mati Hoanipur, the Mati Hoanipur who we see now, is the autor. All the other guys, they may pull, but they're not going to hurt him. Yeah. So it needs to be the autor. So that means that the autor needs to be in position, which has been a struggle. I mean,

that, we've said it already many times, that those 10, 5 kilometers before the Gpresso,

it's probably the most hectic approach of the whole cycling season to a critical point.

It's super dangerous, stressful. There's usually, there's, there was a crash I think last year, also at the bottom of the Gpresso, I do remember Pagachar was involved in the crash. So that's the first thing, the autor needs to be in position from the bottom, because if he's out of position, he will probably make it to the front, but he will have wasted already so much energy, that it's not going to be enough to put the hurt on Mati Hoanipur. By the way, Spencer,

I just, just a little side note, we say, okay, can you go from the Gpresso alone to the finish in San Ramo, you know, it's not usual. As I said, after start of the Bianchi, you know, I was, I spent some time there with some American friends, and with guests were Mario Chipolini

Gianni Buño, and we spoke about Milan San Ramo.

I, if I'm not mistaken, it was 1990, and he actually went on the Gpresso by himself to the finish. On his own, there was nobody, nobody with him. So it has been done before.

And so, I mean, Gianni was an amazing, strong rider, probably, you know, if I look back at the

riders I raised with, taking, I mean, in the right, obviously was the guy who was super impressive, as a cyclist, but a close second, if not, like if you look at the pure power, Gianni Buño's probably one of the guys who hasn't pressed me the most, in terms of strength. So it was nice to

talk with him about that. He was, I mean, he was proud to tell that story, and I think until not

very long ago, it was still the fastest Milan San Ramo ever, until a few years ago, I think. So, yeah, Chapo, Gianni, that was, that was amazing. It was a pretty serious effort to go from the Gpresso and hold everybody off. Like, we've not seen anyone do it since, and we're talking

about maybe Pogature can do it, and he can do see only everything. So, Gianni, it tip of the cap to you.

That's, that's not bad. It just, I'm gonna start throwing stuff out and you tell me why this doesn't work. UAE starts pacing the hard on the Grecino, and then it's all, it's on the whole time, until Chapessa does that work or no? Yeah, it doesn't work. It doesn't work, Spencer. To Gino is, it's a hard, it's the hardest climb of the of the race, but it's so far, you know, it's like, you can't so far from the finish. You can't sacrifice your team to 150k from the finish.

From there, it makes no sense. It absolutely makes no sense. And then it's actually a really, I used to think this was the worst race of the year. It's now the best race of the year, very clever route, because it's not hard after that. You know, you, you crest that mountain pass, biggest climb of the race, and then it's rolling, right? It doesn't get hard again for a while, like almost 100k. So, as you say, yeah, if you sacrifice your team,

then it's like, then what? You've got all, you've got this coastal road where you didn't want the

team to be ready for the climbs coming up. So, yeah, I think you're right. I don't think that

would work. You know, they spend another, another little story just comes up to me now. So,

speaking of the Tukino. So, it's always been, I think one or two years, it has not been in,

because there was works or damage to the road or anything, but, and actually it's funny, because yesterday, they both called me these guys on video. There is one rider who won me on Sarajevo. And he attacked on the Tukino. You know, is this, in this person called you. So, there was, yeah, he was, Bunya was with him. So, they were on their way to, they were on their way to Milan Sarajevo, to, you know, ride with some cyclotourists. It's Claudio Capuch. Yeah, that's right. And he

attacked. Claudio Capuch, he was, I mean, we spoke about it yesterday. They were together in the car, and we talked about that. So, he attacked, he was not by himself, though. But they went on the Tukino, and then I don't know, I don't remember where he attacked the, the rest of the breakaway, but back then, I think it was 1991 when he won, you know, Sarajevo, if I'm not mistaken, it was 1991, yeah. Yeah. Yeah. And yeah, he attacked him Tukino already.

That's on in Carrera jeans, remember that? Yeah. It looked like jeans, man.

The glory days of cycling. Wow. So, it is possible. It's hard to imagine that work, you know. No, look like not in the inside of the corner. I do remember somehow it was bad weather, and, you know, the teams were not the same way organized, and now it's now, and that's, I think that's impossible. That's impossible. I mean, it's possible if the Peloton miscalculates another break, or, but, you know, it would not happen in today's cycling that a favorite like

hippochi would be in a breakaway and be allowed to take enough advantage to make it to the finish. That's not possible in today's cycling. And so it looks like no rain, likely no rain, slight wind, potentially headwind on the Tukino, that's not, that's not great for attacking either, how big do you think this group is going to be, and who could win if these two guys don't win? I think there's a lot of possibilities in Mila Saremo. I mean, we kind of have to

mean, like, imagine this scenario, it's going to be, it's going to be from the Peloton Pogachar,

But, you know, a guy like Pitcock, for example, who, by the way, won Milano T...

do they in an incredible fashion, a very impressive win, on the last climb on the Supergar.

You know, if he doesn't have any issue with the positioning, I think he can stay on the wheel.

It means great shape, obviously. It beats for Roglic and Tobias Johansson, no? And so I think he can be there. Gamma, I don't, I'm not sure last year, I think he was in a lot better shape than this year. Let's not forget, he almost won Tirene last year. It was not far. I think he was second in Tirene. I still, yeah, I still like he kind of, he got to won that. We, we could get that one back. He was a harder terrain of this year, and he

wasn't like a mountain break away. The harder, he was in the break away, the hardest stage of the race. So he looks, he looks like he knows what he's doing. He's, he said in an interview, some of somewhere, he was on purpose, not peeking to early, because he said that last year, he was much better in Tirene, than the week after in Milano Torino. So he could be there. I mean,

he's been there basically all the years when it was from Rpul and Pogacera Ivanov,

Ghana was there too. Two years, three years ago, I think. I actually prefer, if I had to pick one of

those two, I would, I would disagree. I would say I like Ghana to stay with them and pick up to be dropped, because there's climbs are so fast and mild that Ghana, you know, Ghana's FTP is above 500 watts. Because he's so light, his FTP is significantly lower. I think it's harder for him on those like really power climbs. But, I mean, he's obviously very talented. Today's, he won today, that was nine percent average. It's like a better gradient for him. I, if I had to pick

one though, I would say I like Ghana to stay with him and pick up the most of them. I'm sorry,

on the contrary, it's obviously, you know, it's, it's better for Ghana and, and Vannart

and Pogacera, I mean, Pogacera doesn't matter where they mean, if it's on the flat on the down, it will not pill. It's, it's good everywhere for him. But Jepressa, and especially Pogacera, it's climbs that on the wheel, you still, you get a big advantage. You know, I'm not necessarily sure that Pogacera would get dropped even with that much less power. I think I know what, I mean, he's the greatest, I think he's the greatest descendor of the whole Palatau. I think he might be

the greatest descendor of all time. Who knows, you know, if they, if they look at each other on the top of the Poggio and he gets five meters man, he could be gone, you know. That's true. That's true. Yeah. So, so these two would be question, who is going to show up tomorrow with a drop or seat post? Can he still do that? Is that allowed? I think so. I would, I mean, I would be not, I would not be shocked if Pogacera has the dropper. But you said, you bring up a good point.

The last somatic Mahoritch dropper seat post wins on the descent in 2022. It only won, I guess. Unfortunately, that's the last, like, let's call it wild card major race winner, because since since Mahoritch won that, I just don't sorry, Dylan Vembao, I won Perry Rebe that year. But since Vembao won that, it's been Remko, Pogacera, Vanderpool, winning every major race with the exception of Jasper Phillips and winning San Remo with the help of Matthew Vanderpool. So,

usually it, it comes from this elite group. What do you think about what have Wabanart to see of a chance? I think so. I think Walt is in great shape. His, his form is, is going up. He's not the favorite. He's definitely not the favorite. But at the same time, I also, I'm also not sure he's getting dropped, you know, especially the question. I think the, the issues I'm seeing lately with Walt is that he has, you know, gotten worse at positioning, obviously,

because of his many crashes, that's for sure. So, I'm a bit worried about his fighting for position at the bottom of G Press A and for him to come back to the front, it will take. He usually

starts in like 40 at 50 position, which is all acceptable. If, you know, if you want to have a chance

to win. So, it's going to be difficult, but you know, he's not necessarily getting dropped. And then, you know, if he's there after a race of 300k, he can still win in the sprint. Yeah, if you're looking for people that can win, let's say a group of five, go to the line six. And there's a sprint. It's still not as random as you think.

Really?

sprint after that much. Then, he's won this race before. It's the only money. He's won. I think

it's not impossible. He wins a sprint. Probably not likely, as you say, because of the positioning. Someone that I could see winning, Matthew's teammate, Matthew Brennan, plus 2200, is Brennan getting

dropped. You know, like it's, is he a better climber on these types of climbs in Pidcock?

It's something I'm wondering. And he could, he could flat out beat everybody in a sprint. He could be the fastest sprint in the line if he gets to the line. He's fast, he's fast, but, you know, again, after 300k, it's a different game. Listen, I think we have to have him in mind, but there's a small, there's a small chance. I don't, I don't think if, because if Brennan is there,

I think there's going to be the guys there who are also fast. I would kind of think if Brennan is there,

I'm, I'm almost sure that Phillips is going to be there too. Yeah, I mean, that's fair. With the, with the help Phillips finish, it's really strong after five after hot race. The thing is, though, what we just said earlier in the show, if UA is serious about getting Pidcock's car off the front solo, even if that doesn't work, the speed is going to be so high that it's, it can nuclear war for it's a nuclear event for sprinters. I just, if we're going 37k

an hour up at your pressa and 39k an hour up the pogeo are any sprinters there, a high, I don't know. That seems hard to imagine. Yeah, no, no, nobody not, nobody not. But it's, it's wild to watch

this change before our eyes, because as recently as 2020, I'm a back and watched

the year the Caleb UN, remember he was third, I believe that was like 2022, and maybe he was

exactly on the, on the, on the, on the, on the, what do I mean, it kind of was attempting to attack. Yes, and it, it looks like they're writing in slow motion, even that recently, you know, it is wild how fast these climbs have gotten, and UA bringing this team is only going to make it faster, unless they totally biff it, it's hard to imagine actually, it's not being just, I think we're, we like, we got a buckle in, because Pagotcher is going to try to get away solo, because

I think it's, again, Spencer, you know, it's, it's okay, they have, obviously they have a strong theme on paper, but it's not a walk in the park to get all those guys at the front in at the bottom of the jeepresa, that's difficult, you know, there's going to be three guys with Pagotcher, they're not going to be all six there, for Novak is not going to be there, because that's the guy who's going to have to do all the pulling before, Florian Vermeer's probably

probably also so we're going to have to go down the Toro, Kristen, who's, you know, doesn't have the experience of those races yet, and who else, Groschhanger, McNulty, McNulty, but, you know, how good are these guys fighting for position? That's the big problem. Yeah, man, the thing that McNulty, he wins a lot of big races, like a lot of world tour level races, more than you think, so he's got a big decent position, that's more than stage races, no?

I mean, he won like G.C. Quebec last year, remember? Yeah, yeah, yeah, but, you know, it's that's the same race, but Spencer, you're kind of, it's a race of a tradition, you're kind of you're strong, you're automatically in front, this is completely different here. Yeah, I mean, he was fourth at Maryland's cycling classic, you got to be. Oh, there's a huge race. Oh, wizard to be up there. Also, he just crashed it, memory, just crashed out of parent names. Oh, that's yeah, see how he's

recovered, but I did feel like two years ago, they missed a big, I felt like they miscalculated, and you got to have like big bodies on the Tupressa, they can put out big numbers. I just

soon, that's why they brought them to just to throw down the wats and try to get rid of people,

but the, now that you're saying it, the positioning could be a problem, you know what team is actually really good when you look at it is a fesma, vannart, this guy, Timo Kalech, is unbelievable right now. Yeah, Christoph LePort, Mateo Jorgensen, Matthew Brennan, that's they're going to add obviously more writers, but all of those guys are very good and very good positioning except for vannart's recent position troubles. So you could see them having multiple writers in a group,

and then is are they putting people in a pretzel because someone attacks and then what do you do? If fesma has Jorgensen, vannart and Brennan in a group. Yeah, I think we forgot about Jorgensen, I think Jorgensen, if they go on the Tupressa, Jorgensen is there for sure, with what I've seen from him in Tirono, he's going to be there. If he gets in good position, of course,

Not even with that, with that, with this condition he's not getting, you know...

it. I think it's the best of ever seen more five dice that Jorgensen is going to be there. I was going to throw a wildcard out, Gory and Dorian, Gory and Gory and Godon, who once died, seven of Paranese, not on the Starless right now. So he was plus 15,000, maybe he was priced that way, because it's not clear he's actually going to the race, but in a maybe any of his all-in for Ghana, too, right, that his potentially could just be their best chance of winning this race is Philippa Ghana,

I mean, he's, he's always been there in the final two runners up in the last three years, yeah.

Yeah, so yeah, he's definitely a race that suits him perfectly.

I think I calculated in 2023. So this is your Vanderpool one solo. I think Ghana did something like

700 watts average up to the pogeo five minutes. So he has these climbs, like he has the ability to climb up them fast, believe it or not, but if you had to pick a wildcard, who'd you pick? Man, that big cook. Yeah, I mean, that's, this is the state of modern cycling that are wild, your wildcard is one, two, three, four, fifth favorite. I mean, just don't see a lot of, you don't see a lot of random riders winning monuments. Like, we don't really see anyone outside

of Vanderpool in Pagotcha winning monuments anymore. So I do think Pagotch would be as close to a wildcard as we're probably going to see. My wildcard would be Matthew Brennan, I think at plus 2200. I think he could win, I think that would be somewhat shocking, especially for some of that age,

that's never one of race of that distance. Yeah, I was going to be the first time. There's always

the first time, you know, you think is what, where has he been racing lately and what, what have we seen from him, we saw him in Australia, he was, he was good there. Well, then he won, Colonel Russell's

current. He won cute, yeah, that's yeah. And then since then, as he raised, I think he's been at the,

he's been an altitude since then, I think. Okay. That's the reason special, right? You don't to these races, but you go, you go, do altitude before classic targets? Yeah. And we have a new first also in cycling, no, I don't know if you saw, I mean, it's not not related to the classics or or even also rainbow, but how about primus roglicious plan? No races in, no races in May, June and July, no races. He's done vacation. Oh, he's going to, he's going to race until April and then

no more races until the start of the world. That's ridiculous. Yeah. Well, he's minimizing the chance of crashing, I guess, it would be one thing. That's, I'm looking at him now, I can't believe that four months, I mean, obviously listen, if he's full into wind of well-tired, he wins it, he would be, you know, alone record holder would be his fifth, 12-tono. He was obviously be huge, but man, I'm going to imagine that his salary is substantial, very substantial. And for an employer to allow,

you know, you're one of your star riders to choose it, not race during three months, it's, that's a big gamble man. It's a huge gamble. That is a big gamble. Who's their GC, so at the zero, it's going to be Pelazari. Yeah, Belizari and Hiddly and Hiddly and Tours, Lippewitz and Remyco. Remyco? Yeah, and then everything in for primus at the world. Yeah, I mean, they have the depth to

make it work, but I've never seen this before. I mean, professionally, I see, primus will be ready,

whether, you know, I think he probably, he probably considered that he can prepare better.

Especially for a three-week stage race, you know, maybe you come in the first two, three days, zero bit off in terms of race rhythm, but all in a three-week stage race doesn't really matter that much the way they train nowadays. You know, you're full of energy physically and especially mentally, you're fresh, you know? So, you'll see, maybe it's another, another stepping stone towards a completely different approach, like, you know, they don't race at all and just, you know,

show up for their big goals and that's it. It's already the case with the big guys. I mean, big riders, they don't race any more way, they don't think they can win. And primus, he has a house in teens, I believe, so as soon as he's just going to be

Up in the ops, also, I think in that thing, I think it's close to, uh, it's c...

I'll see. Oh, I don't like that. I want to, I want you out to primus, all summer. It's going to be easy to be at out the dude for sure. So we what you watched Milana Torino today, pitcock, one, as we said, I think we both thought primus was going to smoke that, yeah, the way he looked, I mean, he looked, I mean, his cadence is, it's ridiculously high. I mean,

it's, it's, it's amazing. If you're able to do that, you, I mean, you have to be in great shape to have

that kind of cadence. Um, but yeah, when pitcock went, nobody had a response, uh, because primus

finally only finished third, no, not second. You finished third, it looked to me like he had a

sprint and I'm maybe he got a gotten second, but did not think it was worth. Yeah, sprinting by you. How does he create great, great reappearance of, you know, the Brooks fifth place. Yeah, she looks great back after his, of risk fracture in going to have it in Xiana. So, uh, that's, you know, that's a really good result. Yeah, like right there with Pelazari and this sapeda cousins, I believe, were like very active on that, on that final climb, but um, this guy,

you know, this guy's Seb Sebastian Burwick, he was seven. Yep. It's a hard time finding contracts, but by the way, his father is a listener of the podcast. Really, I've got messages from him already, you know, that we, we need to, you know, check out his son. I mean, I do remember him. It was he, he wasn't Israel, I think. It was on Israel, and he was in the final group of, uh, it was like a zero break away. I believe in 20. And then I think he was, was he not, um,

was he not on Durkos, or now he's like, this whole rule. I had a rally. I know that. Yeah. Um, after Israel, where was he? He went straight to Kahra and 20 talk for. So he's been out there for two years. This is his last year. He was a good climber and me know, to be there, when he was, I think he was like, he was top 10, no, fifth, sixth, seventh. I think, seven. Yeah.

And you have to be, you have to be pretty good to be in the top 10 in that race, uh, like, really good.

So, yeah, it's off to him, really. We are, we are, that verdict. We are falling in. I did not know that about his dad. And I just ran early, brought him up. 2023 stage 12 of year to tell you, he's third. And I remember he stuck out to me. Because he was

on Israel at the time. I'd never heard of him or very good climber doesn't get a contract

that next year. But he's on Kahra, we're all now who's going to the two or so. And I was got a chance to start the tour to France. Yeah. They should definitely, I mean, they have to take him. You have to do it. They can't. Why they can't. You can't. You're dispenser to news. You're one of your favorite teams. Can't farm them. They're they're quitting the sponsorship. The team's finished off. Is it yet? There is an argument to be made. Is it ever going to get better than that vault two years ago, right? That's going to be my difficult three stage events. I'm going to say no.

And then before we go, the other race of today, what is the name of that? No kura kusa. No kura. Very easy to say. Super impressive went from Phillips and very sad for Alec Sardron who got caught. We thought he was going to stay here.

Say go. Jonah Killy was in the breakaway last man standing. American writer, I'd never heard of this guy 22 years old. He's on a Belgian continental team.

Last year he was on a Belgian club team and then he was on a French club team. Oh, oxam profiles. So like truly take it in the hard road. You're like, not racing in the US at all. Seemingly committed full time to Europe and then to be on these teams can't be easy culturally and then to be lasting and sitting in the break really impressive. And then if I'm not mistaken, he crashed into it in the last place in the sprint. Yeah, I was getting ready for this podcast. I missed that my son and said, oh, the guy from the US crashed. I can't be right.

It was like, why would he be mixing it up in the sprint after being on the breakaway, but I'm seeing he DNFed unfortunately. So he must have crashed. Wow. That, yeah, impressive ride like that is a hard road to just go like he's 8th at tour of Albania. 2023. Like they're not easy races to be throwing yourself into at that level. Yeah. All right. We go on anything else about San Remo.

Oh, I think I'm put on. I think we went through a lot of different scenarios. I think probably one of those two guys wins because nobody can climb with them right now.

Yeah, it's easy. Well, thank you. And we'll be back right after the race with hopefully Georgian Kathy Lance Armstrong's in on vacation first spring break. We'll not be able to join us, but I'll be back for the other monuments.

We'll speak soon.

Compare and Explore